Suspended Driver's License?
Let Our Long Beach DUI Lawyers Contest Your Suspension
If you are
charged with DUI in California, your driver's license will be suspended immediately,
how long it may be suspended depends on a number of factors.
The best thing you can do after your arrest is to contact a Long Beach
who can work to protect your ability to drive and fight your DUI charges.
When facing the serious consequences of a DUI including a license suspension,
you want experienced, high-quality legal advice and representation. The
Law Offices of Damone & Schroeder has been
practicing criminal law in California for almost 40 years and are AV® rated by Martindale-Hubbell®. All this means we have
a high standing in the legal community and a track-record of successful
cases—all of which we can use for your DUI case.
Why was my license suspended?
Once arrested, an officer will confiscate your license and it will normally
not be returned to you until after the suspension period is over and you
pay the relevant fees.
You will have 10 days to request a
hearing with the DMV
if you wish to contest your license suspension. If you are successful
at the hearing, your license will be reinstated. This, however, does not
mean your DUI charge will be dismissed.
You can also lose your license for refusing to submit to a chemical test:
- Your first such offense will lead to a year-long suspension
- A second offense within 10 years brings a 2-years revocation
- A third offense in 10 years brings a 3-year revocation
If your license is suspended, you may be able to apply for a restricted
license which will permit to drive to certain locations such as work,
school, or substance abuse programs. You can request a restricted license
from a DMV field office.
Can I get my license back?
At your DMV hearing, our DUI attorney can contest the reasons for the suspension
of your license and work to have it reinstated. We understand how important
your ability to drive is and we can work to show that you were not apprised
of what a refusal to submit to a chemical test would result in by the
officer. We can even challenge the reason for your DUI stop in the first
place and if police acted improperly, your entire charge could be thrown out.
What happens if you drive with a suspended license?
California laws have become harsher in cases of a person driving with a
suspended license or with no license at all. The California Senate passed
Bill 1758, which
requires your car to be impounded for 30 days if you are caught driving
without proper licensing. Even if you had only loaned your car to a person with a suspended license,
you yourself can be charged with a misdemeanor. In order to reclaim your
car, you will have to pay any towing and storage charges, which can come
to more than $1,000. This can create a very difficult situation for you
if you require a car for your work.
Free Consultation From Our Long Beach DUI Attorneys
If you are charged with the crime of
DUI, then you could face license suspension for up to one year for a
first offense. It is important that you take the necessary precautions in order to help
keep your driver's license. As you can see, the penalties for conviction
of driving without a license can be severe.
Contact our firm today to discuss your situation and to begin the process of retaining
the legal assistance that you need in your case to defend your rights.
free case evaluation today and we can get to work recovering your driver's license!