Assault and Battery Charges in California
Criminal Defense Lawyers in Long Beach
Assault and battery charges can have severe penalties for conviction, and
it is important that you have skilled representation on your side when
combatting these charges. In addition, a conviction for this crime could
incur a strike against your record. This means that any earlier crime
for which you were convicted puts you in a position where you will have
higher penalties for a subsequent offense. A third strike in California
means that the defendant may face the possibility of life in prison. It
is vitally important that you have a skilled representative on your side
to help defend you against the accusations made.
Assault and battery are actually two different and separate criminal charges.
They are, however, often grouped together in a criminal case. Assault
is an attempt or threat of violence toward another individual, and battery
is actual physical contact between two people. Intentional touching or
physical violence such as hitting another person against their will can
result in serious criminal charges.
Charged with assault and battery?
Law Offices of Damone & Schroeder, we are dedicated to providing our clients with the skillful and aggressive
representation that they need. We have nearly 40 years of combined experience
criminal defense representation and we can put this to work for you. Every prosecution
case has weaknesses, and the skilled team at our firm will investigate
every avenue to possibly reduce the negative effects on you. There are
many effective defenses for assault and battery, depending on the case.
Self-defense, lack of evidence, and mistaken identity are examples of
possible defenses for these charges.
Penalties for a Conviction
The penalties for misdemeanor battery in California could include up to
6 months in county jail and a possible fine of up to $1,000; and the penalties
for simple misdemeanor assault are similar. An "enhancement"
can be added to your sentence based on various factors including the number
of strikes on your record. For example, the charge of causing great bodily
injury can carry a penalty of up to four years in state prison. Assault
with a firearm can bring 2 to 4 years in state prison and a fine up to
$10,000. If you are convicted of assault with a semi-automatic weapon
or machine gun, the penalty can be up to 12 years in state prison.
You need the most qualified Long Beach assault and battery attorneys to
protect your rights. Take advantage of our skilled firm and retain our
services so that we can review your case and work out a vigorous defense
for you. Seek our representation in your case today.